Lion’s Paw

What is the Lion’s Paw?

The Lion’s Paw is a Baronial award that is only given out by Lyondemere.

Some History of the Award: Heraldry

The name “The Order of the Lion’s Paw” was registered to Lyondemere, Barony of, on August 17, 1984, according to a letter on file from Crescent Herald. (Conrad von Regensburg and Megwyn of Glendwry were Baron and Baroness; Crescent at that time was HRorek Halfdane of Faulconwood.)

According to the Ordinary and Armorial, it was originally registered to Caid, Kingdom of in April 1982 (via Laurel) and transferred to Lyondemere in August 1984. It was apparently also registered to Lyondemere, Barony of, on the latter date.

The badge “(Fieldless) In pale a garter buckled in annulo, buckle to chief vert and a lion’s paw escallop dependent from the garter Or” was registered for the Order on January 13, 2002 in a letter on file from Coral Pursuivant. (Gilbert Rhys MacLachlan and Morann Will Owen were Baron and Baroness at the time; the Reeve and Reevess, Jamal Damien Marcus and Eowyn Amberdrake, also signed the petition, which is also on file.) According to the Ordinary and Armorial, the actual registration date was September 2001.

The Award Ceremony

The ceremony for the Lion’s Paw runs as follows:

The Order of the Lion’s Paw was founded in Anno Societatis XVI by Baron Conrad von Regensburg and Baroness Megwyn of Glendry to recognize those members of the Barony of Lyondemere whom the Baron and Baroness found to be unflagging in their service to the Barony. And the symbol of this Order shall be a golden scallop-shell dependant from a green ribbon.

This __ day of ____ of Anno Societatis __, the Baron and Baroness of Lyondemere call forward _______ to recognize publicly their service and devotion to this Barony.

Lion’s Paw Recipients To Date

A complete list of Lion’s Paw Recipients and recipients of an Augmentation is also available via the official Kingdom of Caid Order of Precedence page.

  • 1981: Colin Wynthorpe, Corvus Kyven, Duncan Graeme, Éowyn Amberdrake, Guy de Coldrake, Jason Griffiths of Shadowhyrst, Megwin of Glendry, Rosemary Petsley
  • 1982: Aliskye MacKyven Raizel, Conrad von Regensburg, Michelle de Feraud, Xena Baxter Wynthorpe
  • 1983: Alexandre le Bonhomme, Bruce Draconarius of Mistholme
  • 1984: Eideann de Blenkinsopp, Gwyneth Wallis Amberon of Glendwry, Karl de Blenkinsopp, Rowan Darklighter of Casidon
  • 1985: Bartholomew Gwaltrudd O’Cullaighne, Katherine Brianna Coldrake Kyven, Gabrielle nic Chulrain
  • 1986: Eden Elisabeth McNab Sommerhawke, Angelina Nicollette de Beaumont
  • 1987: Alicia Raedwald of Thelwael, Astra Christiana Benedict
  • 1988: Jill Blackhorse, Stephen de Huyn
  • 1989: Casimier of Silesia, Morgaine Brisen
  • 1990: AElfrede Raedwald of Devennport, Aislinn Avia of the Sparrow Hawk, Catarina Della Zimarra
  • 1991: Ciar Lasse MacGregor, Egill von Stahl
  • 1992: John Fetterson of the Misty Hills, Meghan Catriona MacInnes of Kinlochaline
  • 1993: Christopher Leyland D’Eyncourt, Riordan Robert MacGregor
  • 1994: Rafael Mercúrio
  • 1994: Aldwin Ian MacKechnie
  • 1995: Morann Will Owen, Mariolle Bucci degli Fiori
  • 1996: Ascelyn Fraser Sommerhawke, Ealasaid Catriona nyn Uilleim
  • 1997: Alais Nic Thighearnáin, Eibhilín Nic Thighearnáin, Gilbert Rhys MacLachlan
  • 1998: Jamal Damien Marcus, Johannes Speiss von Hochwald
  • 1999: Ascelyn Fraser Sommerhawke (augmentation), Dafydd Gwynfardd, Eden Elisabeth McNab Sommerhawke (augmentation)
  • 2000: Cassandre Nicole Loustaunau, Cristal Fleur de la Mer, Éowyn Amberdrake (augmentation)
  • 2001: Ginevra da Cunha, Kevin MacColin O’Gallagher, Lachlan Erskine of Cromarty, Meghan Fiona Paget
  • 2002: Arthur FitzRobert of Wiverneweald, Ealasaid nic Chlurain, Garrett O’Doherty, Ognar of Lyondemere
  • 2003: Anabel de Marseille, Christina O’Cleary
  • 2004: Emma Wolvyne, Gerhart von Altenberg, Johanna von Nürnberg, Una Orcadiana
  • 2005: Peregrine Rose Falconer, Ungust filius Antonii
  • 2006: Robert an Crosair, Argenteilin filia Elffin, Thomas Bordeaux, Tetchubah of Greenlake, Aliskye MacKyven Raizel (augmentation)
  • 2007: Eilidh Swann Stralachlan, Marion Fitzthomas, Mealla Caimbeul, Phillip Quartermain, Siobhán na bhFeadh, Tighearnán Cearrbhach Ó Faoláin
  • 2008: Beathog nic Dhonnchaidh, Eva filia Edeneweyn, Finella Harper, Gareth Nikodemos Somerset, Jon Thomme de Claydon, Phillip Quartermain (augmentation), Tighearnán Cearrbhach Ó Faoláin (augmentation)
  • 2009: Conchobhar Mac Cionaoith, Grainne ingen Ebir, Magnus Mac Cormac, Pierre de Dieppe, Etiennette Dubord dite Demarais, Medb Renata, Drusus von Augsberg, Aurelia della Rosa, Fausta Rutilla, Tetchubah of Greenlake (augmentation)
  • 2010: Amya Weaver, Fedelm Dub, Cecilia Lightfoot, Augustine Von Freiburg, Peregrine Rose Falconer (augmentation), Conchobhar Mac Cionaoith (augmentation)
  • 2012: Etiennette Dubord dite Desmarais (augmentation), Pierre de Dieppe (augmentation)
  • 2013: Domhnall mac Pharlain
  • 2014: Robin Greenwood of Arden, Geoffrey Brewer, Angharat Goch verch Gwenhover, Borgunna Varsdottir, Hugh ap Rhys, Leben La Croix
  • 2015: Fearghus Cochrane, Ciothruadh Dubh, Claudia Prima {augmentation}, Cormac Mór
  • 2016: Eva filia Edeneweyn {augmentation}, Mealla Caimbeul {augmentation}, Avicia de Na Baiona {augmentation}, Jon Thomme de Claydon {augmentation}
  • 2017: Anabel de Marseille {augmentation}, John Fettersson of the Misty Hills {augmentation}, Winfred Archer